Batik project and prototypes

These are all for the same project, the fabric im sampling is for the fabric i will make the final piece for the prototype dresses. The fabric is a grid because its actually five different fabrics all sewn together.

Fabrics in order from left to right: silk satin, silk habotai, cotton papillon, cotton twill, linen. The pictures of the sample were taken while it was wet, so the colours photographed a lot deeper then they are in reality.

Second layer of colour. I didnt take a picture of the first step because it was all just yellow.

Second layer of colour. I didnt take a picture of the first step because it was all just yellow.

Third layer of colour.

Third layer of colour.

Fourth and final layer of colour.

Fourth and final layer of colour.

First dress all cut out ready to sew. You can even see my designs in my journal in the background.

First dress all cut out ready to sew. You can even see my designs in my journal in the background.

First prototype. I like how this turned out but I don't like the proportion of the bottom ruffle to the dress.

First prototype. I like how this turned out but I don’t like the proportion of the bottom ruffle to the dress.

The second prototype. This one I like a whole lot better.

The second prototype. This one I like a whole lot better.

Leave a Reply

